Student Government Association honors faculty members

Thursday, February 22, 2018

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Student Government Association (SGA) recognized the work of ten faculty members at its annual Professor Recognition Banquet, held February 21 at the Tate Student Center.

Faculty members, their disciplines and schools and colleges are:

Jennifer Atkinson, risk management and insurance, Terry College of Business
Leah Carmichael, international affairs, School of Public and International Affairs
Christy Desmet, English, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
Nick Fuhrman, agricultural leadership, education, and communication, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
Gary Terrance Green, natural resources, recreation and tourism, Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources
Melissa Landers-Potts, human development and family science, College of Family and Consumer Sciences
Hatidža Mulić, art, Lamar Dodd School of Art
Tim Samples, legal studies, Terry College of Business
Sarah Shannon, sociology, Franklin College of Arts and Sciences
Michael F. Yoder, environmental, civil, agricultural, and mechanical engineering, College of Engineering

The faculty members were selected from nominations submitted by students. From the initial pool of nominations, members of SGA’s Cabinet selected the honorees based on numerous criteria, including clear articulation of impact and evidence of dedication to the education of UGA students within and beyond the classroom.

“At the SGA Professor Recognition Ceremony, we have the privilege of awarding professors that go the extra mile for their students, both inside and outside of the classroom,” said Cameron Keen, SGA president. “Each professor nominated greatly impacts the lives of their students every day, and we are truly grateful for their significant contributions.”

The Student Government Association is a registered student organization within UGA’s Division of Student Affairs.

For more information, call 706-542-6396 or see

UGA Student Affairs

The Division of Student Affairs comprises 18 campus departments that enhance the learning environment for students at the University of Georgia by stimulating the learning process, integrating the in-class and out-of-class experiences, promoting an environment conducive to growth and discovery and facilitating intellectual, spiritual, social, occupational, physical, cultural and emotional development. For more information, see

Writer: Don Reagin, 706-542-7774,
Contact: Brian Garsh, 706-542-6396,